Changes To The YouTube Partner Program

Yesterday I have been obsessed with de-cluttering my email accounts and my main GMail account was a tricky one to clean up because it’s the oldest email account I have. The Google Drive bit was easier and the GMail account import was also a breeze in just a few clicks of a mouse but I was in a bit of a quandary with the YouTube account where I still have some videos which still show up under search engine results. It has been a slow crawl, though, as is expected of an account that you simply want to experiment with. But, getting that email from YouTube today about the Changes To The YouTube Partner Program was somehow uplifting for me. Couldn’t help but think the Universe is conspiring with my de-clutter goals.

The email regarding the changes to the YouTube Partner program basically says my YouTube channel did not meet the new threshold of 4,000 hours of watchtime within the past 12 months and 1,000 subscribers. A huge part of me was relieved because I could delete my channel there anytime. I was, of course, a bit disappointed at my channel’s stats but it wasn’t like I was doing YouTube videos full-time. On the part of the advertisers, I do understand they want the most out of their revenue and I would be supportive of this new change regarding the threshold if I were in an advertiser’s shoes.

I would still download the videos before deleting my YouTube channel for good as I have linked some of those videos on some helpful articles here.

Some may not be welcoming of these new YouTube Partner Program threshold but some may just be relieved. I’d like to think sometime soon a similar YouTube platform would appear as it has always been with technology developments.

Advertisements

Withdrawing Upwork Funds to GCash via PayPal

As I promised in a previous article, here is the video I made for withdrawing Upwork funds to GCash via PayPal. I  have started using PayPal because Skrill will no longer be supported by Upwork as a withdrawal method by April 24, 2017. Withdrawing funds in Upwork to GCash via PayPal is instant. Do not forget to link your PayPal account first with your GCash account. Only one GCash account can be linked to your PayPal account.

SMS Sent to 447786205094

I rarely examine my cellular phone’s monthly statement but two days ago was an exception and I found a PhP180+ worth of sms sent to a UK number, 447786205094.

screenshot_2

I had noticed this before but brushed it off as some of those mobile verification text messages some websites like Yahoo!, GMail and Outlook would usually send. The frequency this time as indicated in the statement suddenly got me curious and it prodded me to look into my Messages app but no existing international sms seem to correspond with the dates the charges were made. When I did a Google search, I learned that all these sms sent to 447786205094 pertain to Facetime activation. I never really thought these popups cost that much.

img_6171

It finally dawned on me how I incurred those charges. I do recall there was a period when I would often switch from one sim to the second (exactly why I bought a cheaper Android phone few months ago) and every time I insert a new sim, I would see that popup message and would then click OK.

This happens to other international mobile carriers as well and I have read some have asked for refunds. As for my case, I would be more careful to enable and disable Facetime each and every time I take out and replace my sim card.

iOS 10’s Intrusive Notifications

When I chanced upon an article last week about developers already testing the iOS 10.1 version, I finally decided to update my iPhone 6 Plus’s software. Update went smoothly but not without me getting a bit paranoid about the black screen.

One problem I did immediately notice is that the notifications have become intrusive to the point that I kept mistakenly clicking on the default Banner notification while I was in the middle of a Cooking Dash episode. Unlike the newer iPhone 7 and 7 Plus, my phone’s processor still isn’t capable of saving the game apps if I click away from it for a while; by the time I go back to the game app, it would have already taken me back to the “downloading” page even if I paused the episode I was on.

 

img_4665

Yeah, right! Something’s indeed about to be ruined; I can’t see through what I’m cooking!

I experimented with the Notifications settings and found only the Banners option made sense because the Alert option is obviously even more glaring. However I look at it, both Banners and Alerts are intrusive.